Royal Challenger BangaloreRoyal Challengers Bangalore is the Bangalore franchise team in the Indian Premier League. The team came into existence during the inception of the IPL in 2008 and is owned by flamboyant Indian liquor baron, Dr Vijay Mallya through his flagship, UB Groups; having spent 111.6 million US Dollars to acquire the franchise. The team has been coached under Ray Jennings and has seen an array of captains. Though Ray Jennings has been the coach for RCB, the bowling department has been given into the hands of veteran Indian fast bowler, Venkatesh Prasad.

M Chinnaswamy stadium of Bangalore has served as the home ground for Royals for all their outings during the IPL, except for the second season when owing to elections; IPL has been shifted to South Africa. During its 5 years of IPL existence, Royal Challengers Bangalore, more popularly called as RCB, have been one of the most competitive teams since they have managed to reach the play-offs in 3 out of 5 seasons and been the runners up for 2009 and 2011 IPL seasons. During 2011, RCB even managed to reach ICC Champions League finals. Royals have qualified for the ICC Champions League thrice in the last five years.

Currently, captained by Virat Kohli, Royal Challengers Bangalore was captained by legendary Indian batsman Rahul Dravid during the inaugural IPL. The second season saw Anil Kumble and Englishmen Kevin Pieterson handle the reigns of the team. New Zealand spinner, Daniel Vettori captained the side during IPL 4 and also during Champions League of that year. With arrival of Chris Gayle in their side, Royals never looked same. During the 2011 ipl schedule, Chris Gayle came as replacement for Dirk Nannes, having served Kolkata Knight Riders in his earlier IPL appearances. Though Gayle didn’t fire with KKR, he scorched the IPL platform in his return match with a 55 ball unbeaten century to make RCB one of the most dreaded teams in the IPL.

For 6th ipl schedule, Virat Kohli is expected to lead the side with Chris Gayle in their team squad along with 18 other players who have been retained by RCB. Besides Gayle, 5 more overseas players are present in the team squad. Further, the auctions for sixth Indian Premier League, to be taken place on February 3 in Chennai, may see more faces in the RCB team squad with 2.7 million USD money purse left with the team.

Date Local GMT Match Details Venue
Apr 4, 2013 20:00 14:30 RCB vs MI, 2nd IPL (D/N) Bangalore
Apr 7, 2013 20:00 14:30 Hyderabad vs RCB, 7th IPL (D/N) Hyderabad
Apr 9, 2013 16:00 10:30 RCB vs Hyderabad, 9th IPL (D/N) Bangalore
Apr 11, 2013 16:00 10:30 RCB vs KKR, 12th IPL (D/N) Bangalore
Apr 13, 2013 20:00 14:30 CSK vs RCB, 16th IPL (D/N) Chennai
Apr 16, 2013 20:00 14:30 RCB vs DD, 21st IPL (D/N) Bangalore
Apr 20, 2013 20:00 14:30 RCB vs RR, 27th IPL (D/N) Bangalore
Apr 23, 2013 16:00 10:30 RCB vs Pune, 31st IPL (D/N) Bangalore
Apr 27, 2013 20:00 14:30 MI vs RCB, 37th IPL (D/N) Mumbai
Apr 29, 2013 16:00 10:30 RR vs RCB, 40th IPL (D/N) Jaipur
May 2, 2013 20:00 14:30 Pune vs RCB, 46th IPL (D/N) Pune
May 6, 2013 20:00 14:30 KXIP vs RCB, 51st IPL (D/N) Mohali
May 10, 2013 20:00 14:30 DD vs RCB, 57th IPL (D/N) Delhi
May 12, 2013 16:00 10:30 KKR vs RCB, 60th IPL (D/N) Ranchi
May 14, 2013 16:00 10:30 RCB vs KXIP, 63rd IPL (D/N) Bangalore
May 18, 2013 20:00 14:30 RCB vs CSK, 70th IPL (D/N) Bangalore